by Ellie Harrison & John Woods

Robert Schumann: Märchenbilder Op113

Mvt 1: Nicht schnell

Mvt 2: Lebhaft

Mvt 3: Rasch

Mvt 4: Langsam, mit melancholischem Ausdruck


Robert Schumann: Märchenbilder Op113


Schumann’s Märchenbilder, translated as ‘Pictures from Fairyland’, was written in 1851 for virtuoso violinist Wilhelm Joseph von Wasielewski. Schumann’s brilliant writing for the viola and piano shines through in this rich miniature work, at times it is closer to chamber music than a piece in which to display the viola on its own. Whilst Schumann published no descriptions of each of the caricature-like movements, written in one of his diaries is the acknowledgement that movements one and two are inspired by Rapunzel, movement three by Rumpelstiltskin, and movement four by Sleeping Beauty. This work offers many technical challenges for the viola that is delightful in its playfulness.